B&B Tokyo logo

The Beefsteak & Burgundy Club, Tokyo is a gathering of like-minded blokes that meet once a month to enjoy good food, good wine, and good company.

The majority of our members are Australian expatriates in Tokyo, although we have included Brits, Kiwis, Yanks and token Canadians, Irish and other nationalities in the interests of international equanimity.

Membership is set at forty, with these minimum requirements:

  • attend a minimum of three lunches as a guest;
  • be of good character and standing;
  • be nominated by a current member;
  • write a grovelling letter to the President;
  • and pay the set annual fee.

Contact: B&B Tokyo


The B & B – or more properly, The Beefsteak and Burgundy Club – was started in Adelaide, South Australia in 1954 after a chance remark by David Crosby. That brilliant stroke led to the B&B phenomenon, which now boasts more affiliated organisations than the United Nations!

Tokyo was chartered by the parent club on 11 September 1972, as Charter Number 126 and only the 3rd overseas club.

Many have passed through the portals of our Club, leaving their humour and friendliness behind as they travelled to the four corners of the globe. Probably best-known for our annual Christmas Function, we have enjoyed good (and not so good) meals at many of Tokyo’s great restaurants.

In the past we concentrated on Australian wines in the best tradition of jingoism, but we now realise that the world of wine does not start at the Hunter Valley and end at Margaret River. In recent times we have sampled wines from all over the world, greatly enriching the palate of the members. In terms of wine though we do tend to focus more on conviviality rather than judgement, and blind tastings are a rare event.


There are twelve lunches per year, usually held on the 3rd Friday of every month. The exception is the December Lunch which is the first or second Friday. Occasionally, evening events are held. Dates may change due to Japanese national holidays.

Notices for events are sent out several times. All members are expected to respond even if only in the negative. members need to check their attendance for accuracy. It is not necessary to respond to every notice.

When attending with guests, members are required to send the guest’s name when responding to the Event notice. Members are responsible for guests’ behaviour, dress code and in the event of a non-show payment of any fees incurred. (Note: restaurants now require set attendance numbers 3 days before the event. Cancellations within the three days up to the event will almost certainly incur no-show fees).

All Members are expected at least once a year to be the nominated speaker on food, white or red wine. Joke telling is welcome, especially if they are funny.

Non-response to Event notices, consistent absences from Events and/or missing three consecutive Events may result in suspension or loss of membership.

Your Tokyo B&B Committee

  • President: Darren Morrish
  • Vice-President: Robert Rann
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Elvin Zoet
  • Wine Master: Richard Straughan
  • Food Master: Andrew Chapman
  • MWP: 

Past Committee Members

well, the names that we can remember …

Gary Lynch (1996 – 2019)
Paul Adams (1993 – 1996)
Gresham Dobson (1991 – 1993)
David Nankiville (1989 – 1991)
Mike Gourlay (1986 – 1989)
Frank Vandermeer (1985 – 1986)

Terry White (2013 – 2019)
Arun Nangia (2011 – 2013)
Tom Wilken (2003 – 2011)

Phil Gibb OBE (2014 – 2015)
James Porteous (2014 – 2014)
Steve Moriarty (2013 – 2014)
Craig Saphin (2010 – 2013)
Mark Navin (2006 – 2010)
Robert Grantham (1996 – 2006)
Michael Walker (1993 – 1996)

Phil Gibb OBE (2014 – 2015)
James Porteous (2014 – 2014)
Steve Moriarty (2013 – 2014)
Craig Saphin (2010 – 2013)
Mark Navin (2007 – 2010)
Robert Marshall (2003 – 2007)
Dennis Davis (1995 – 1987)

Wine Master:
Trent Keliher (2003 – 2005)
Michael Clark (2000 – 2003)
Phil Rogers (1998 – 1999)
Terry White (1997 – 1998)
Bill Slattery (1985 – 1987)

Food Master:
Neil Butler (2014 – 2017)
Andrew Dunlop (2007 – 2014)
Arlester “Pete” Johnson (2003 – 2007)
Jordan “Shirley” Miller (1998 – 2003)
Billy Kelly (1997 – 1998)
Allan Morrison (1995 – 1997)
David Nankiville (1987 – 1989)